Silver Heron Award

The Silver Heron Award is presented annually to one distinguished member of Blue Heron Lodge. In addition to a commemorative plaque, a donation is made in the recipient’s name to Tidewater Council’s endowment fund and the recipient is presented with the James E. West Fellowship award.

The James E. West Fellowship award is available for gifts of $1,000 and up in cash or marketable securities to a council endowment fund. The gift must be in addition to — and not replace or diminish — the donor’s annual Friends of Scouting support. Many individuals and corporations make these gifts either on behalf of someone else — such as in honor of an Eagle Scout, Silver Beaver recipient, a retirement, a special accomplishment, or anniversary — or in memory of a special individual. If an institution is truly “the lengthened shadow of one man,” it is more than fitting that the BSA honor James E. West’s significant contributions to scouting in such a significant way.

Blue Heron Lodge annually donates a gift in the name of one recipient and presents him or her with the James E. West award. (In 2003, two awards were presented. The Silver Heron Award was created in 2011. Prior to 2011, recipients noted below received only the James E. West Fellowship. In 2011 and subsequent years, recipients were presented with both the Silver Heron and West awards.)

1999 David Davies
2000 Kermit Wood
2001 Lucy J. Tucker
2002 Bill Stine
2003 Terry Tucker
2003 Wes Sherman
2004 Carter Wright
2005 Thomas C. Brown
2006 Clarence Harrison
2007 Bill Weissner
2008 Doug Frydenlund
2009 Ed Hotel
2010 Joe Maniscalco
2011 Taylor Bobrow
A.J. Kelly
2012 Michael Paul Wilkinson
2013 Sheldon Greiling
Brendan Kane
2014 Stephen Greiling
Ron Misfeldt
2015 Seth Greiling
Charles Pitchford
2016  Will Scheib
John Scheib
2017  Justin Chesnut
Daniel McCloud